Jurong Lake Run 2014

21 June 2014

The last time I participated in Jurong Lake Run was in 2012 and I really enjoyed the race. Missed last year’s race because I signed up for KL marathon (which was cancelled in the end due to haze) and thought I wouldn’t have recover in time to do a good 10km. I was excited to be back again this year, after all Jurong was my “homeground” where I train, live and breathe.

I took the MRT to Jurong East and there were already many runners making their way towards the start line which was just in front of the Science Centre. Changed into my race shoes and deposited my bag. After visiting the portable loo, I started jogging towards the starting line as warm up. I wanted to spend a bit more time warming up, but there were already many runners inside the race pen. Afraid that I would have difficulty getting to the front if I delay any longer, I decided to enter the pen to wait for the race to start. While waiting, I scanned the crowd for familiar faces. Said Hi to Ying Rong who was standing in front and also chatted with Renuka who was just standing beside me. At the other end, spotted Run’er and Rachel too.

The race started promptly at 6.30pm. The front pack shot off in lightning speed right from the start. Rachel dashed past me shortly, chasing after Renuka and Ying Rong. My target was to attempt a 4:10″/km pace and if possible run a bit faster for the 2nd half. Since my first km reads 4:02 min (Glups!), I decided it wouldn’t be wise to chase after the ladies ahead. I just hope I could at least keep them in sight.

Early part of the race, just outside Chinese Garden station.

Early part of the race, just outside Chinese Garden station.

By the 2nd km, I could not see the ladies anymore after they turned into Jurong Lake Park. I was running well, but fear crept in suddenly when my breathing quicken and I started panting more heavily than usual. I thought I was going too fast too early into the race and I’m certainly going to breakdown later. The momentary thinking was enough to distract me from attempting my best effort to run at my target pace as planned. There were some twists and turns and I got a little worried when I realised my pace has dropped drastically to 4:20″/km at the fourth km.

Mustering a smile and thumbs up sign when I saw Kim Lai taking photos of the runners.

Mustering a smile and thumbs up sign when I saw Kim Lai taking photos of the runners.

Turned into the park connector leading to Chinese Garden. I could at last see Rachel again from a distance. I pressed on, taking her as my target, hoping to catch up with her before the race ends. Approaching Japanese Garden, I suddenly spotted a familiar figure clad in yellow singlet. It was Trevor from MF! He was just behind Rachel. Motivated, I picked up speed again to chase after the two of them. Finally, caught up with them just after the 7km mark. The three of us ran together for a while and Trevor and I slowly pulled away from Rachel. I was following Trevor and realised that my next km reads 4:15″/min. I was way behind my target and I’m only left with 2km to make up for it! I picked up my pace again, pulling away from Trevor, hoping he would follow so we could push each other to the finishing line.

Pressing on to catch up with Trevor and Rachel ahead.

Pressing on to catch up with Trevor and Rachel ahead.

A few more twists and turns in the park, and finally I knew the end point was near when I was running along Yuan Ching Road. Turned into road towards Jurong Lake Park and gave my last surge towards the finishing line. Completed the 10km in 41mins 38 secs, finishing 4th for Women’s Open category. Not my best time but I’m happy that I finished the race strongly. Just a bit regretful that I had let fear taken over my faith during the first half. The fear of going too fast, not because I couldn’t but because I was afraid. The fear of struggling and winded in the end.

Sometimes, you really need the courage to believe that you are really capable of running faster and pushing your limits. I really need to be more courageous and believe in myself that I could do it.

Overall, a good run and had an awesome experience at Jurong Lake Run. A great confident booster for my upcoming marathon especially after a very disappointing sundown marathon.

Glad to catch up with fellow Asics team mate, Kaifen who also came in 4th for her 6km race.

Glad to catch up with fellow Asics team mate, Kaifen who also came in 4th for her 6km race.

Chia, Jurong Safra Running Club's Vice-Chairman came in first for Men's Veteran category. Pey Ling did a PB and also earned a 8th placing for Women's open category! Happy that we have all done well for this race.

Chia, Jurong Safra Running Club’s Vice-Chairman came in first for Men’s Veteran category. Pey Ling did a PB and also earned a 8th placing for Women’s open category! Happy that we have all done well for this race.

Leave a Reply

