Sundown Marathon 2015

4 July 2015, Saturday

Been signing up for the full marathon since 2009. This year I decided to go for the 10km team of 4 category when ASICS offered a slot and get a few of us (Kaifen, Claire, Brittany and myself) to form a team.

It was great fun doing a team event. I always love the camaraderie shared among team mates. And it brings a special purpose to racing, because it’s not just about running for your own PB, it’s about doing your best for the team.

I met up with Claire and Kaifen to deposit our bags before we proceed to the race pen. We were looking for Brittany but could not contact or see her. By 9.30pm, there were already a lot of runners streaming into the race pen so we hurried inside. Got a shock when we were almost stopped from entering the first wave. Luckily, we managed to scramble in at the last minute and squeezed our way to the front.

The race started promptly at 10pm. The moment the horn sounded, the front pack shot off in lightning speed. I started my Garmin. Someone knocked against me and I did not realise I have accidentally pressed my Garmin and stopped the time until a minute later. I reset my watch while on the run, knowing that the distance recorded here would not be accurate anymore. As I followed the flow of runners and run based on feel, I could see once of the top female runners in Malaysia, Michele Tan far ahead of me. I was already running at 3:57min pace so I have no guts to go after her. Baoying caught up and was running alongside with me by 2nd km. She was gradually picking up her pace as we approached a flight of stairs leading to Helix Bridge at the 3rd km.  Up the flights of stairs and down again, before we hit the running path towards Gardens By the Bay and Marina Barrage.

I tried to keep up with Baoying, but she was really strong and pulled away from me shortly later. I pressed on, hoping that I could at least keep her in sight. As I ran on the bridge over at Marina Barrage, I could see Michele just slightly ahead of me. She seemed to have slowed down. I overtook her and continued running, taking the few runners ahead as my targets. It’s barely 5km into the run and I was already breathing hard. Yet I can’t seem to go faster. Where has all my stamina go?

Saw scattered groups of men running past from the other side. It was exciting to see who was leading, and who was closely behind. Cheered for Raviin when he ran past. Finally, I arrived at the u-turn. It was a big round u-turn. By the time, I was back onto the straight road, I could no longer see Baoying ahead. I continued running and tried to keep up with a couple of male runners in front.

I was slowing down. The bridge leading to Marina Barrage seemed so far away. I told myself it’s only 4km more to finishing line and I should just keep running.

As I was approaching Marina Barrage, I saw Morgan just ahead and called out to him. I tried to overtake him. He seemed surprised to see me and quickly increased his pace to pull away from me. With a new found motivation, I tried to follow Morgan. I thought I was running faster than before, but the splits on my Garmin says otherwise. My pace had in fact dropped to 4:27″/km and 4″37″/km for my 8th and 9th km.

As I chased after him and ran down the Esplanade bridge, towards the finishing line, Morgan gave a final kick and sped off with his brother. I knew I wouldn’t be able to catch him. I pressed on, hoping to at least achieve a decent timing for this 10km run. Ran my heart out for the last 500m and finished in around 42:30 min.

Slightly disappointed that I did not even manage a sub 42min this time. Hopefully, I will do better for my upcoming races, Shape Run 15km and Ascis Team Relay 10.5km.

All in all, my team did well! We came in first for Team of 4 Women’s Category! Super elated and proud of our team effort.

Eunice just completed her 5km run when we arrived at race site. She managed to catch the fireworks along the run too!

Eunice just completed her 5km run when we arrived at race site. She managed to catch the fireworks along the run too!

Team ASICS. Brittany, Claire, Me and Kaifen.

Team ASICS. Brittany, Claire, Me and Kaifen.

A nice picture of Zhilei and me after the run. I'm still perspiring profusely!

A nice picture of Zhilei and me after the run. I’m still perspiring profusely!

With Rachel, who came in 2nd for her half marathon event! Impressive 1hr 30min run!

With Rachel, who came in 2nd for her half marathon event! Impressive 1hr 30min run!

And it was nice catching up with Kelvin after his race too. Being a father of 2 does not give him much time to run, but he still managed to clock a decent time for his 21km.

And it was nice catching up with Kelvin after his race too. Being a father of 2 does not give him much time to run, but he still managed to clock a decent time for his 21km. <credit to second wind magazine for the pic>

With the boy boy who only manages to run 2-3 times a wk due to work. Glad he still managed to clock a good time for his 21km.

With the boy boy who only manages to run 2-3 times a wk due to work. Glad he still managed to clock a good time for his 21km. Thank you second wind for this lovely shot. 

Leave a Reply

