Shape Run 2015

A super belated post so am just going to keep this short.

Started the morning with a scare because I realised I had forgotten to bring my time chip when I arrived at the race site! I had left it on my bed after putting on my race bib before leaving the house. =(

I was still contemplating to ask my brother (who has kindly gave me and Peyling a lift to KPT very early in the morning) to drive home and help me pick up the time chip. Decided to check out the information booth first to see if they can help. Thankfully, I am able to purchased a new race bib at S$20. Phew! No need to trouble my brother after all.

The 15km race started promptly at 6am. There was a leading vehicle flashing the time as the clock tick away. Lead cyclists, Trevor and Chris led the way and a whole lot of us followed the moment the horn sounded. Few hundred meters into the race, I was in the lead. There was another female runner running alongside with me for a while and overtook me after 2km. I get to know later that she was the 26 year old RSAF officer, Lynette who appeared in the newspaper some months ago for a full score for her IPPT results. As I was already running  faster than my target pace, I told myself to be patient and stick to my own pace since it was still early in the race. I eventually overtook Lynette and gradually pick up my pace. She was hot on my heels as we pounded on Nicoll Highway. It was until we turned into the F1 pit and I gradually pull away from her when I sensed that she is not keeping up anymore. As I do not know if she would eventually catch up in the end, I told myself to focus on my pace and aim to maintain my position till the end of the race. Lynette later went on to finish 1st runner-up for the 15km race.

There was plenty of u-turns for this race course and it was encouraging to receive cheers from runners and pacers over at the other side. I was running alone most of the time and it was great that I have the lead cyclists, Trevor and Chris to follow.

Shape Run 2015

The race was over in a flash. 15km is actually quite a nice distance. Not the fast and furious, lung bursting 10km, and it’s shorter than 21km which make it seems easier to push a bit more because you know the end is near.

As I ran down the ramp towards Kallang Practice Track, I could see all the 5km runners waiting for their race to begin. I was all smiles when I saw the finishing tape in front of me. Super elated because it’s not often I get to break the finishing tape here in Singapore.

credits to John Tan for this lovely finishing picture =)

credits to John Tan for this lovely finishing picture =)

Completed the 15km run (my garmin read about 14.5km though) in 1:02:42. Avg pace: 4:19″/km. All in all it was a very enjoyable race and as usual, it was fun catching up with friends after the race too. A bonus to come in first for the first time in Shape Run. It was the first year they incorporated a 15km category into the event.

With the two wonderful lead cyclists, Chris and Trevor who led me from start to finish. =)

With the two wonderful lead cyclists, Chris and Trevor who led me from start to finish. =)

With 2nd runner-up, Serene Yang.

With 2nd runner-up, Serene Yang.

Ezann ran well too and came in 4th.

Ezann ran well too and came in 4th.

Happy to meet Cecilia who was there to compete in the 10km category. And she came in 10th position too! Congrats Cecilia!

Happy to meet Cecilia who was there to compete in the 10km category. And she came in 10th position too! Congrats Cecilia!

Prize presentation. =)

Prize presentation. =)

Prize winners for Shape Run' 15.

Shape Run’15 ‘s prize winners for 15km, 10km and 5km category.

Leave a Reply

