Injury Woes

The heel pain on my left foot was so worrying that I finally called Singapore Medicine Centre to fix an appointment with a doctor. The schedule was fully booked so it was more than two weeks later when I finally arrived at SSI for my appointment on 14 August 2015 morning.

I took the whole day off from work for this consultation. Had an ultrasound and the doctor confirms that the heel pain to be due to Plantar Fasciitis. To elaborate, it involves pain and inflammation of a thick band of tissue, called the plantar fascia, that runs across the bottom of your foot and connects your heel bone to your toes.

My ultrasound imaging showed a 4 mm thickness. Anything more than or equal to 4mm is consider plantar fasciitis. Doctor advised me to cut my mileage by half, and it would be best if I could lay off for three weeks. He also recommended me to see a podiatrist who can customise a pair of insoles for me.

And so the medicine centre pen me in for an appointment with a podiatrist (who comes only in the afternoon) on the same day. The podiatrist made some marking at the back of my foot and then asked me to walk up and down the corridor while he assessed my pronation.  Thereafter, a mold of my feet was made and I was asked bring along two pairs of running shoes when I return at my next visit.

Will be going back to see the doctor and podiatrist in 3 weeks’ time. Shall be good and cut my mileage for the time being. Hope to be able to recover fully in Sept so I can kick start my training for year end SCMS soon.

Leave a Reply

